Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Winter Squid ?
Hi Experts,

I'm new to this but I was able to catch quite a few squid Dec - Jan without much fuss.

Then had a spell.

Recently trying again around the shore with no luck, not a touch.

However I've been fishing offshore in about 40m water and seen 2 big ones attached to flathead. They let go near the boat of course ( leaving quite big holes in the fish )

Are squid around the shore in Winter?? More Shy ??

Any advice would be helpful.

Oh i'm near Batemans Bay if it matters

Thanks in advance
as far as im aware they are the same in winter
[left]squiderboy[/left]
  • + 1 for the same in winter. Saying that, you will generally get bigger ones throughout the colder months. Give it ago and you will still get em!

i had heard that but i wasn't sure
[left]squiderboy[/left]
Well this is GREAT news. I like the sound of them getting bigger !!!!!!

Perhaps I've just been unlucky and will persist.

I'm new to squidding but love it . Lived and fished here for a long time and just discovered the inkers on my doorstep.

They were making great entree and produced good results as bait.
I was under the impression, in nsw, that they're in deeper water now due to more stable water temps.

And return to shallow water around the end of July or early August to spawn.

Anyone got firm data?

You might be right Ojingo .

As we were fishing in about 40m when to my surprise a Squid came up attached to a Flattie.

Needless to say he let go near the top and disappeared in a flash.
Any winter feedback for Sydney squidding for 2013??? :rod:

Quote:Any winter feedback for Sydney squidding for 2013??? :rod:

Mate I'm getting some squid my biggest one to date is 32cm hood. Shoot us a PM if you ever want to go for a squid fish as I live in Colyton not far from you
yes its taken a lil while this year, but they definately r getting bigger, the quantity aint there (apart from the arrows, there everywhere atm) but the quality is good.