Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Squid Fishing Facts and Info - Long island, NY - Squid season 2013
Hey guys,

So I'm rather new to the squid fishing scene. I've heard about it over the years but never participated until this year, which I'm really excited to try.

There doesn't seem to be many forums I could find that are recently updated except here so I'm making an entry here in the squid fishing section. And yes I've scoured the internet. Most entries are from 2012 or a lot older with scattered information.

I would appreciate anyone who can validate and reply on any questions on what I've read online so far about squid fishing.

Squid tend to come into the shore area when water temperatures hit 50-55 degrees F.

Best times to squid are sunrise or sunset. Or at nighttime with lights on the water.

The best colors for jigs usually are typically pink, orange? Sometimes green or blue? Size 2-4" jigs are best? Brands?

Squid boats that go out to sea? I heard Laura Lee (captree) and Fishtale (fire island) went out last year? Was it for squid fishing? or just a night time bass trip and you decided to squid on your own? I thought both ships were fluke/bass ships and didn't go out at nights. Any clarification would be appreciated. Or info on any boats that squid fish (party or charter with costs $)

Now I heard about the docks squid fishing in greenport. I had some pretty good times porgie & bass fishing on the peconic star so I know the area and pretty much understand the area where to go squid fishing there. Especially with the light posts shining over the water.

What I'm curious about is are there other areas? Can't be online Greenport in all of Long island.

I live out in queens so its a 2 1/2 hour drive. I'd prefer to get the chances of success up as much as I can before heading out.

So any other known squid fishing spots would be awesome.